Heart Chakra

This chakra is called the heart chakra and is the middle chakra in a system of seven.
It is related to love and is the integrator of opposites in the psyche: mind and body, male and female, persona and shadow, ego and unity.
A healthy fourth chakra allows us to love deeply, feel compassion, have a deep sense of peace and centeredness.
Now that we have awakened the firest of our will, we are ready to enter the sacred and tender realm of the heart. Here lies the very centre of the chakra system as well as the heart of our being, the chamber from which we give and receive love.
These are the essential questions we ask of the heart, the organ whose beating defines life itself. But when we speak of the heart, we are speaking not of a physical organ out of a realm of connection, where we are beckoned to expand beyond ourselves and find union with another.
Love is the essence of life. It is the ultimate healer, the most potent teacher, the inspiration for great works. For the child love provides the assurance of survival. For the adult, it brings the intimacy that allows acceptance and invites expansiveness. And while the desire to receive love is a basic need of all human beings, this alone will not open the heart.
The Sanskrit name for this chakra is Anahata, meaninging unstuck or unhurt. To open the heart is to treat others (as well as things) with honour and respect and refrain from causing unneccessary harm. This occurs naturally when we discover the divine nature of the self within and realise that a similar nature resides within others and indeed all of life.
An open heart feels compassion and empathy for both self and others. It understands the tender nature of spirit, the delightful joy of connection, and the deep peace of body, self and other, light and shadow, masculine and feminine, inner and outer realms. The result of this balance is peace.
Sanskrit Name:  Anahata
Meaning: Unhurt, unstruck
Location: Centre of chest
Body Parts: Heart, lungs, pericardium, arms, hands
Glands: Thymus
Function: Love, relationships
Element: Air
Colour: Green
Balanced Characteristics: Compassionate, loving, empathetic, self-loving, peaceful, balanced, forgiving
Deficiency: Antisocial, withdrawn, critical, judgmental, intolerant of self and others, loneliness, isolation, depression, fear of intimacy, fear of relationships, lack of empathy
Excess: Co-dependency, jealousy, clingy, demanding, poor boundaries, overly sacrificing
Physical Malfunctions: Disorders of the heart, lungs, thymus, breasts, arms, circulation problems, asthma, immune system deficiency, high blood pressure, tension between shoulder blades, chest pains
Healing Strategy: Breathwork, psychotherapy (for relationship issues, grief, self-acceptance)
Key Words: Expansive, freedom, spacious, open, love, peace, breath, balance, relationship, gentle, healing, soft, unity
  • I am unconditionally loving of myself and others.
  • There is an infinite supply of love in the world.
  • I am love.
About Michelle

A Soul Coach and healer, Michelle is a sought-after speaker and consultant.

She is passionate about her Soul Coaching® practice where she helps burnt-out executives who have lost themselves to rediscover their passion for their lives.

Michelle serves as a mentor for Denise Linn's current on-line professional training courses, "Gateway Dreaming," and "Soul Coaching® Oracle Card Certification" program with Hay House.

Michelle was a contributing author in the award-winning spiritual anthology, Soul Whispers II (Soul Wings Press, Sydney), which was published in October 2010.

With a rich and varied background in the healing arts, marketing, public speaking and writing, Michelle is also a Chakradance™ practitioner (a dynamic, moving meditation to balance and harmonise the chakras.

Michelle runs a successful private practice using these tools to help people "rediscover the sacredness of their lives."

Speak Your Mind